Invited Oral Presentations

Title Page
ISIS Status Report 3
  • I. S. K. Gardner (Rutherford Appleton Laboratory)
Status of the ESRF 8
  • J.M. Filhol (European Synchrotron Radiation Facility)
Commissioning of CEBAF 15
  • A. Hutton (CEBAF)
Results from the Final Focus Test Beam 23
  • D. L. Burke (SLAC)
ELETTRA Status Report 57
  • A. Wrulich (Sincrotrone Trieste)
Review of CW Electron Machines 62
  • D. Husmann (University of Bonn)
Recent Highlights from Synchrotron Radiation Facilities 67
  • M. Eriksson (Maxwell Labs)
Performance Limitations at LEP 73
  • A. Hofmann (CERN)
Performance Limitations at HERA 78
  • B. Holzer (DESY)
European Free-Electron Laser User Facilities 83
  • P.W. van Amersfoort (Instituut voor Plasmafysica, Nieuwegein)
Review of Large Electrostatic Accelerators 91
  • B. Heusch (Centre de Recherches Nucl., Strasbourg)
A Review of Proposed New European Synchrotron Light Sources 99
  • M. W. Poole (Daresbury Laboratory, Warrington)
Status Report on SIS-ESR 133
  • K. Blasche, B. Franzke (GSI Darmstadt)
The CERN Heavy Ion Facility 138
  • H. Haseroth (CERN)
Review of ALPI 143
  • A. Lombardi (INFN, Legnaro)
AGS Heavy Ion Operation with the New Booster 151
  • T. Roser (BNL)
The RHIC Project 156
  • M. A. Harrison (BNL)
Status of the Nuclotron 161
  • A. D. Kovalenko (JINR, Dubna)
Status of COSY 165
  • R. Maier, U. Bechstedt, J. Dietrich, S. Martin, D. Prasuhn, P. V. Rossen, H. Stockhorst, R. Tölle (Forschungszentrum Jülich)
Recent Developments in Small Cooling Rings 173
  • S. P. Møller (University of Århus)
Survey of Proposed High Intensity Accelerators and their Applications 213
  • S. Schriber (LANL)
Beam Dynamics in High Intensity Beams with Space Charge 218
  • I. Hofmann (GSI Darmstadt)
Intense H+ and H- Sources 223
  • A. J. T. Holmes (AEA Tech. Culham Lab)
The Low Energy Part of High Intensity Accelerators 231
  • A. Schempp (Institut für Angewandte Physik de J. W. Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt)
Critical Design Issues of High Intensity Proton Linacs 236
  • G. P. Lawrence (LANL)
Important Design Issues of High Output Current Proton Rings 241
  • G. Rees (Rutherford Appleton Laboratory)
Proposals for Spallation Sources in Europe 249
  • H. Lengeler (CERN)
Critical Design Issues of e+ e- Factories 254
  • M. S. Zisman (LBNL)
New Trends in Cyclotrons 295
  • U. Trinks (Technische Universitat Munchen)
Review of Radioactive Ion Beam Facilities and Research Opportunities 300
  • S. Harar (Grand Accelerator National d'Ions Lourds)
New Developments in RF Power Sources 305
  • R. H. Miller (SLAC)
Advanced Insertion Devices 310
  • R. P. Walker (Sincrotrone Trieste)
Review of Electron Guns 317
  • C. Travier (LAL Orsay)
MM-Wave Linac and Wiggler Structures 322
  • H. Henke (TU Berlin)
Comparison of Calculated with Measured Dynamic Aperture 327
  • F. Zimmermann (SLAC)
Requirements and Trends in the Control of Accelerators 332
  • J. Poole (CERN)
Low Frequency Linear Colliders 363
  • R. Brinkmann (DESY)
High Frequency Linear Colliders 368
  • W. Schnell (CERN)
The Progress of X-Ban "Open" Cavity RF Pulse Compression Systems 375
  • I.V. Syrachev (Protvino)
Performance of CRYRING with Improved Electron Cooling 380
  • K. Abrahamsson, G. Andler, L. Bagge, E. Beebe, P. Carlé, H. Danared, M. Engström, C.J. Herrlander, J. Hilke, J. Jeansson, A. Källberg, S. Leontein, L. Liljeby, A. Nilsson, A. Paal, A. Pikin, K.G. Rensfelt, U. Rosengärd, A. Simonsson, J. Starker (Manne Siegbahn Inst. Stockholm), H. Meuth, A. Schnase (Forschungszentrum Jülich)
Status and Applications of Superconducting Cavities 385
  • B. Bonin (CEA)
Review of -Factories 393
  • M. Serio, G. Vignola (INFN, Frascati)
Advanced Acceleration Techniques 398
  • T.C. Katsouleas (USC)
Status of Proton Therapy: Results and Future Trends 407
  • E. Pedroni (PSI Switzerland)
Status Report on HIMAC 412
  • K. Sato, N. Araki, M. Endo, Y. Furusawa, Y. Hirao, A. Itano, T. Kanai, M. Kanazawa, K. Kawachi, A. Kitagawa, T. Kohno, H. Koyama-Ito, M. Kumada, N. Matsufuji, S. Minohara, N. Miyahara, T. Murakami, M. Muramatsu, K. Noda, H. Ogawa, S. Sato, Y. Sato, F. Soga, M. Sudou, M. Suzuki, E. Takada, A. Tanaka, K. Tashiro, Y. Tomura, M. Torikoshi, S. Yamada, J. Yoshizawa (NIRS)
Advanced European Medical Facilities 417
  • F.J.M. Farley (Centre Antoine Lacassagne, Nice)
The Tevatron Collider - Status and Plans 425
  • P.L. Colestock (FNAL)
Advanced Technology Issues in the LHC Project 429
  • L.R. Evans (CERN)
Cosmic Accelerators 434
  • A. W. Wolfendale (University of Durham)
Crystalline Beam in a Storage Ring: How Long Can It Last? 1379
  • X.-P. Li (BIOSYM Technologies Inc., San Diego), J. Wei (BNL), A. M. Sessler (LBNL)
Matrix Formulation of the Particle Motion in Crystalline Beams 1382
  • A. F. Haffmans, D. Maletic, A. G. Ruggiero (BNL)
Effects of Thermal Noises on Electron Trajectories in the SPring-8 Storage Ring 1385
  • S. Daté, A. Ando, K. Soutome (JAERI-RIKEN SPring-8 Project Team, Tokyo)