Contributed Papers

Title Page
First Results of the Orsay Beam Size Monitor for the Final Focus Test Beam 31
  • P. Puzo, J. Buon, J. Jeanjean, F. Le Diberder, V. Lepeltier (LAL Orsay)
Pair Production as a Probe of Colliding Beam Size 34
  • P. Chen, J. Irwin, A. Spitkovsky (SLAC)
Achieving the TESLA Gradient of 25 MV/m in Muticell Structures at 1.3 GHz 37
  • C. Crawford (FNAL), T. Hays, J. Kirchgessner, H. Padamsee, P. Schmuser, M. Tigner (Cornell University), J. Graber, A. Matheissen, W. -D. Moller, M. Pekeler (DESY)
CLIC Drive Beam Generation - A Feasibility Study 43
  • B. Autin, R. Bossart, R. Corsini, J. P. Delahaye, G. Guignard, C. D. Johnson, L. Thorndahl, I. Wilson (CERN), A. Mikhailichenko (BINP Novosibirsk), J. Nation (Cornell University), K. Bane (SLAC)
Experimental Studies of the Charge Limit Phenomenon in NEA GaAs Photocathodes 46
  • H. Tang, R. K. Alley, J. E. Clendenin, J. C. Frisch, G. A. Mulhollan, P. J. Saez, D. C. Schultz, J. L. Turner (SLAC), H. Aoyagi (Nagoya U.)
A Hospital - Based Hadrontherapy Complex 49
  • U. Amaldi, D. Campi (CERN), G. Manfredi, M. Silari (Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche), L. Badano, R. Cambria, F. Gramatica, M. Nonis, M. Pullia, S. Rossi, G. Tosi (Fondazione Adroterapia), F. Gerardi, R. Leone, L. Sangaletti (Fondazione Italiana Ricerca sul Cangro, Milano), G. Arduini (Torino)
A High - Energy High - Luminosity +- Collider 52
  • D. Neuffer (CEBAF), R. Palmer (BNL)
Performance of the Advanced Light Source 107
  • A. Jackson (LBNL)
The Status of SRRC 110
  • Y. C. Liu (SRRC Taiwan)
Critical Review of Target Specifications for Third Generation Synchrotron Radiation Light Sources 113
  • J. L. Laclare (Grenoble)
Observation of Instabilities in the ELETTRA Storage Ring 119
  • E. Karantzoulis, C. J. Bocchetta, F. Iazzourene, R. Nagaoka, L. Tosi, R. P. Walker, A. Wrulich (Sincrotrone Trieste)
Transverse Coupled - Bunch Feedback in the Advanced Light Source (ALS) 122
  • W. Barry, J. Byrd, J. Corlett, G. R. Lambertson, C.C. Lo (LBNL)
High Resolution Stabilisation of Vertical Photon Beam Position in SRS Beam Lines 125
  • J. A. Clarke, E. A. Hughes, B. G. Martlew, M. W. Poole, P. D. Quinn, S. L. Smith, V. P. Suller, L. A. Welbourne (Daresbury Laboratory, Warrington)
Quasi-Isochronous Optics for Super-ACO 128
  • A. Nadji, P. Brunelle, M.P. Level, M. Sommer, H. Zyngier (LURE)
ELFE, an Electron Laboratory for Europe 181
  • Ph. Leconte, M. Promé (CEA)
Vertical and Longitudinal-Electron Polarization at HERA 184
  • E. Gianfelice-Wendt (DESY)
Recent Achievements in Transverse Spin-Polarisation at LEP 187
  • L. Arnaudon, B. Bouchet, J. Camas, B. Dehning, G. P. Ferri, P. Grosse-Wiesmann, H. Grote, R. Jacobsen, J. P. Koutchouk, J. Mann, J. Miles, R. Olsen, M. Placidi, R. Schmidt, J. Wenninger (CERN), A. Blondel (Ecole Polytechnique Paris), R. Assmann (MPI Munich)
Who is Afraid of a Crossing Angle? 190
  • K. Hirata (KEK)
Particle Dynamics in LEP at Very High Energy 193
  • F. Barbarin, F. C. Iselin, J. M. Jowett (CERN)
Results on Proton Extraction from the CERN-SPS with a Bent Crystal 199
  • H. Akbari, K. Elsener (CERN)
Activities at CELSIUS 202
  • T. Bergmark, C. Ekström, C. -J. Friden, K. Gajewski, L. Hermansson, O. Johansson, T. Lofnes, G. Norman, D. Reistad, L. Westerberg, J. Zlomanczuk (The Svedberg Lab., Uppsala), A. Sukhanov (JINR, Dubna), P. -E. Tegnèr, P. Thörngren-Engblom (Stockholm University), H. Calèn, B. Höistad, A. Johansson, A. Mörtsell, A. Ringbom, U. Schuberth (Uppsala DRS)
Development of a Spin-Exchange Polarized H-Ion Source for High Energy Accelerators 205
  • A. N. Zelenski (INR, Moscow), K. Jayamanna, C.D.P. Levy, P. W. Schmor, J. Welz, G. W. Wight (TRIUMF)
The LHC Beam Screen - Specification and Design 208
  • B. Angerth, F. Bertinelli, J.-C. Brunet, R. Calder, F. Caspers, O. Gröbner, A.G. Mathewson, A. Poncet, C. Reymermier, F. Ruggiero, R. Valbuena (CERN)
Scheme and Parameters of a 250-mA, 20 MeV CW Proton Accelerator 261
  • V. Pirozhenko, O. Plink (Moscow Radiotechnical Institute), T. Myers (Northrop Grumman Corp, New York)
High Current IH Structures 264
  • U. Ratzinger (GSI Darmstadt)
Power Production by Atomic Power-Station Based on High Intensity Accelerator and Subcritical Nuclear Reactor 267
  • Yu.M. Ado, V. P. Kryuchkov, V. N. Lebedev (IHEP, Protvino)
A High Intensity Accelerator for Driving the Energy Amplifier for Nuclear Energy Production 270
  • C. Rubbia (CERN), N. Fietier, P. Mandrillon (Cyclotron Laboratory, Nice)
On-line Diagnoses of High Current-Density Beams 273
  • J. D. Gilpatrick (LANL)
Experiments to Test Beam Behaviour under Extreme Space Charge Conditions 279
  • R. Cappi, R. Garoby, D. Möhl, J. L. Vallet, E. Wildner (CERN)
New Techniques for Tailoring Longitudinal Density in a Proton Synchrotron 282
  • R. Garoby, S. Hancock (CERN)
Investigations on a Plasma Lens for Fine Focusing of Heavy-Ion Beams 285
  • M. Stetter, J. Christiansen, K. Frank, C. Kumpf, U. Neuner, S. Stöwe, R. Tkotz (Univ. Erlangen), D. H. H. Hoffmann, P. Spiller, A. Tauschwitz (GSI-Darmstadt and MPQ-Garching)
ILU-Electron Accelerators for Industry 288
  • V. L. Auslender (INP, Novosibirsk)
A Cryogenic Current Comparator for Nondestructive Beam Intensity Measurements 290
  • A. Peters, V. Dürr, H. Reeg, C. Schroeder (GSI Darmstadt), H. Koch, H. Mühlig, R. Neubert, W. Vodel (FSU, Jena)