Foreword

The 12th International Conference on Accelerator and Large Experimental Control Systems (ICALEPCS 2009) was held on October 12-16, 2009, at the Kobe International Conference Center in Kobe, Japan. The conference was hosted jointly by the RIKEN Harima Institute (RIKEN/SPring-8) and Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute (JASRI/SPring-8). Kobe Convention & Visitors Association and Tsutomu Nakauchi Foundation supported ICALEPCS 2009. The Conference was endorsed by the Physical Society of Japan (JPS), Particle Accelerator Society of Japan (PASJ), European Physics Society/Experimental Physics Control Systems (EPS/EPCS), the Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies (AAPPS), and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)/Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society (NPSS). The Program Committee was chaired by Noboru Yamamoto (Chair, KEK) and Kazuro Furukawa (Vice-Chair, KEK), and Ryotaro Tanaka (JASRI/SPring-8) was the Conference Chair. The number of submitted abstracts was 432, which covered a variety of aspects of modern control system architecture and leading control technologies from a wide range of scientific fields including accelerators, fusion reactors, telescopes, and high-energy particle detectors. The Program Committee selected contributed oral presentations from the abstracts with advice from the International Scientific Advisory Committee of ICALEPCS. The Program Committee classified all abstracts into twelve scientific tracks to fit into the nineteen scientific sessions during the five days from Monday 12 to Friday 16, October. Two special invited presentations were scheduled on Monday morning after the welcome address; Dr Testuya Ishikawa presented on X-ray Free Electron Laser in Japan, and Dr Hideo Inoue from Toyota Motor Company presented Integrated System Engineering for Sustainable Mobility before the closing remarks of the conference.

The conference consisted of a set of plenary oral sessions with three poster sessions. The time allocated for each oral presentation was slightly reduced than that in previous conferences to maximize the number of presentations. Consequently, a total of 320 papers were presented including 9 invited and 82 contributed oral presentations in the plenary sessions and 229 posters in the three afternoon poster sessions. The total number of participants was 575 from 23 countries including 159 industrial exhibitors and 65 accompanying persons. Twenty-four technology-leading companies from all over the world, i.e. control system builders and leading-edge equipment providers, exhibited their commercial products during the conference. The pre-conference events, five special-topic workshops/meetings held on Saturday and Sunday; the Micro Research Finland Event System Workshop, the Workshop on Virtualization Technologies, the Control System Cyber-Security Workshop, the EPICS Collaboration Meeting, and the TANGO Collaboration Meeting. More than 200 participants joined the meeting to discuss subjects related to up-to-date control systems.

The Award/Prize ceremony was scheduled during the conference banquet. Among the poster presentations, prizes for excellent posters were awarded to Paul Van Arsdal (LLNL), Elder Matias (CLS), and Antonio Caruso (INFN/LNS). The 2009 EPS/EPCS Prize was awarded to Dr. Ge Lei from Institute of High Energy Physics (IHEP), China. An award of honors, the ICALEPCS Lifetime Achievement Award, was presented to Martin R. Kraimer, Leo R. Dalesio, and Jeffery O. Hill for the first time. As described in the Award documentation, The ICALEPCS Lifetime Achievement Award is presented by the ICALEPCS International Scientific Advisory Committee to recognize those who through their vision, leadership and technical excellence have influenced the practice of control system development beyond the boundaries of their home laboratory or nation. This first ICALEPCS Lifetime Achievement Award is awarded to Martin R. Kraimer, Leo R. Dalesio, and Jeffrey O. Hill three individuals who have dedicated the last twenty plus years to the creation, development, and nurturing of the EPICS control system toolkit and the EPICS collaboration. Since its beginning as a two-project collaboration in 1989, EPICS hasbecome globally recognized as a capable, robust, and extensible control systeminfrastructure for a wide range of projects. It is used in hundreds of projects, including accelerators, tokomaks, telescopes and others, in over seventeencountries. Many commercial equipment vendors now advertise EPICS drivers for their technical equipment. In addition to their technical achievement, these three have worked tirelessly to foster the spirit of collaboration that has been vital to the success of EPICS by removing technical and political barriers to collaboration, creating documentation, providing training, and organizing collaboration meetings. With their vision, technical excellence, and collaborative approach, they havepioneered a new paradigm of global cooperation that has greatly influenced the international practice of control system development for large experimental physics projects.

We would like to thank all the members of the International Scientific Advisory Committee, the Program Committee, and especially the Local Organizing Committee, as well as the support staff for making ICALEPCS 2009 a success. We also wish to thank the JACoW senior staff, Christine Petit-Jean-Genaz and Volker Schaa, who led the international JACoW editorial team in processing the ICALEPCS 2009 papers so that they were available on-line before close of the

conference. Thanks are also extended to the industrial exhibitors, and especially to the staff from Kobe Convention & Visitors Association for their continuous support and wonderful ideas. The presentations, discussions, exhibitions, events, and entertainment were enjoyed and valued by all the participants in Kobe, Japan. The participants look forward to meeting again at ICALEPCS 2011 in Grenoble, France, and ICALEPCS 2013 in San Francisco, USA.

Ryotaro Tanaka, Conference Chair Noboru Yamamoto, Program Committee Chair Kazuro Furukawa, Program Committee Vice-Chair