FOREWORD

Cyclotrons 2007, the 18th International Conference on Cyclotrons and their Applications, was held at the Russott Hotel in Giardini-Naxos, Sicily, Italy, on October 1st to 5th, 2007. The conference, which was chaired by Luciano Calabretta, was organized and supported by the Laboratori Nazionali del Sud of INFN (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare). This was the first time the conference was held in Catania and we feel honored to have been chosen to organize the XVIII conference of this series.

The Director of Laboratori Nazionali del Sud, Prof. M. Lattuada and Dr. G. Fortuna, member of INFN executive board, on behalf of the INFN President, addressed messages of welcome to the participants during the opening session.

The international character of the conference was confirmed by the numbers, a total of 246 attendees from 25 countries. There were 29 invited oral presentations and 28 oral contributed talks as well as 102 poster presentations during four and half days.

A lively and interesting round table on the "Advantages and disadvantages of different types of accelerators in tumors treatment" was held.

A special session on the recent developments of the FFAG accelerators was included.

We were happy to take the opportunity to show the K-800 Superconducting Cyclotron during an afternoon tour to the Laboratori Nazionali del Sud in Catania, at that time the Helium Liquefier plant was in maintenance after 15 years of continuous operation. After the LNS tour, the delegates visited the main historical buildings of Catania.

On 2 October, the International Organizing Committee convened in the room "Cordari" of the Russott Hotel. The success of the present conference was recognized to be an evident confirmation of the interest of the scientific community and the Committee unanimously recommended the continuation of the Cyclotron Conference series. The invitation of the IMP Laboratory of Lanzhou to host the 2010 Conference was unanimously accepted.

Drs. Dag Reistad, Nitai Mukhopadhyay, Guido Ryckewaert, Kenji Sato and Pierre Schmelzbach have resigned from the Committee and Drs. Rakesh K. Bhandari, Kichij Hatanake, Marc Loiselet, Mike Seidel were invited to become members.

Unfortunately the electronic archives of the past Cyclotron Conference proceedings are not yet ready due to Hbar company in charge of the work, although the IOC has decided to pursue this goal and many laboratories have supported this decision with funds. However it was decided to accept to delay the electronic publication according to the company proposal.

We would like to thank Claude Lyneis for the talk in memory of Richard Geller, held on Friday morning at the beginning of the ion sources session, and Pierre Schmelzbach for his summary talk.

The conference was made possible thanks to the support of many sponsors. We would like to thank all of them (listed in the following pages). Special thanks go to the LNS Director, Prof. M. Lattuada, to the Director of CSFN-SM (Centro Siciliano di Fisica Nucleare e Struttura della Materia) and to the Catania University.

We would like to warmly thank all the members of the Local Organizing Committee and in particular the group of young people that really made the conference to happen with their work and dedication: Leandro Piazza, Mario Maggiore, Pablo Cirrone, Antonio Caruso, Luigi Celona, Maurizio Re and last but not least the secretary Mrs. Giovanna Ruggieri.

We would like to thank the ICCA Organizing Committee (see list in the next pages) for having given us this important opportunity. We hope to have succeeded in serving the cyclotron community at best and acknowledging the contribution of all the participants.

All in all, we enjoyed it very much and we sincerely wish the best success to Hongwey Zhao and Wenlong Zhan for the XIX ICCA conference which will be held on 2010 in Lanzhou.

Danilo Rifuggiato Editor and Chairman Local Organizing Committee